About Mick


Mick is one of Australia’s leading researchers in synthetic organic chemistry. His group has made important contributions spanning all aspects of the discipline including the synthesis and exploratory chemistry of fundamental hydrocarbons, the total synthesis of biologically important compounds employing domino reactions, the development of new synthetic methods, strategies and tactics and host-guest chemistry.

Mick’s research contributions were recognised by the award of the 2008 A. J. Birch Medal (the premier award of the Organic Division of the Royal Australian Chemical Institute). He is one of only two non-professors to win this award since its inception in 1992. He was also awarded the 2006 Le Fèvre Memorial Prize of the Australian Academy of Science. Other recipients (Kepert, 2004; Caruso, 2005; Maschmeyer, 2007) were ARC Federation Fellows. (The Le Fèvre Memorial Prize is an award for “outstanding basic research in chemistry by scientists no more than 40 years of age”).

Mick was one of the first Australians to be featured in an author profile in Angewandte Chemie.

Mick serves on the Advisory Board of the journals Synthesis, Synlett, Natural Products Reports, and Chemistry: An Asian Journal. He is an Editorial Board member of the Asian Journal of Organic Chemistry and Nature Scientific Reports.

Mick is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry and a Fellow of the Royal Australian Chemical Institute.

Mick was awarded a PhD degree in 1991 from The University of Nottingham under the supervision of Professor John Murphy before completing a Postdoctoral Fellowship with Professor Lew Mander at ANU. Mick has held positions as lecturer at Massey University, NZ (1994–1997) and The University of Sydney (1997–2002). He moved to the Research School of Chemistry in December 2002.

To find out about the courses Mick teaches click here.